World Soundtrack Awards winners announced

News 20 Oct 2007
Tonight the World Soundtrack Awards winners were announced in Music Centre Bijloke Ghent. The first prize went to Alexandre Desplat (The Queen, The Painted Veil), this year's Film Composer of the Year. Clint Mansell's film music for The Fountain not only received the Best Original Soundtrack of the Year but also the Public Choice Award.

The 7th edition of the World Soundtrack Awards was again a big success. The Flemish Radio Orchestra, conducted by Dirk Brossé, performed top quality film music for a sold out concert hall. Both the ceremony and the concert were hosted by world famous composers such as David Arnold, Alberto Iglesias, Clint Mansell, Maurice Jarre and Daniel Tarrab. After the World Soundtrack Awards ceremony the Flemish Radio Orchestra, conducted by Dirk Brossé, performed film music by Mychael Danna (Little Miss Sunshine, Capote, Monsoon Wedding, Ice Storm), Harry Gregson-Williams (Man of Fire, Shrek, Chronicles of Narnia), Evanthia Reboutsika (My Father & My Son), Mikis Theodorakis (Zorba) and Jef Neve (Dagen Zonder Lief). The winners: Film Composer of the Year Alexandre Desplat (The Queen, The Painted Veil) Best Original Soundtrack of the Year The Fountain (Clint Mansell) Best Original Song Written Directly for Film You Know My Name (Casino Royale) written by Chris Cornell and David Arnold - Performed by Chris Cornell Discovery of the Year Daniel Tarrab and Andres Goldstein (XXY, Inheritance) Public Choice Award The Fountain (Clint Mansell) The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Mikis Theodorakis who unfortunately couldn't be present due to health problems. The Best Young Belgian Composer prize was awarded to Werner Viaene. He wrote the best score for Belgium, The Movie by Wim Robberechts and won € 2.500. Click here to see the photoreport! The World Soundtrack Awards are organized in cooperation with Sabam, the province East-Flanders and the Ghent City Marketing Fund.