15 17 Oct '24

World Soundtrack Awards Announces 2010 Nominees

News 09 Aug 2010
The World Soundtrack Academy has announced the list of its nominees for the 2010 Awards to be presented in three categories: Film Composer of the Year, Best Original Score of the Year and Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film. The names of the winners will be announced at the World Soundtrack Awards 10th Anniversary Gala on Saturday, October 23, the closing night of the Ghent International Film Festival.
The nominees the World Soundtrack Awards 2010: Film Composer of the Year • Alexandre Desplat - Fantastic Mr. Fox, New Moon, Julie & Julia, The Ghost Writer • Hans Zimmer - Sherlock Holmes, It's Complicated • Danny Elfman - Alice in Wonderland, The Wolfman • John Powell - Green Zone, How To Train Your Dragon, Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs, Knight & Day • Carter Burwell - The Blind Side, A Serious Man, Where the Wild Things Are, Howl, The Kids Are All Right Best Original Film Score of the YearFantastic Mr. Fox - Alexandre Desplat • Avatar - James Horner • Where the Wild Things Are - Carter Burwell & Karen Orzolek • A Single Man - Abel Korzeniowski • Sherlock Holmes - Hans Zimmer Best Original Song Written Directly For a Film • 'Almost there' from The Princess and the Frog music & lyrics by Randy Newman performed by Anika Noni Rose • 'I see you' from Avatar music by James Horner & Simon Franglen lyrics by James Horner, Simon Franglen, Kuk Harrell performed by Leona Lewis • 'I want to come home' from Everybody's Fine music & lyrics by Paul McCartney performed by Paul McCartney • 'Sticks & Stones' from How to train your dragon music & lyrics by Jon Birgisson performed by Jonsi • The Weary Kind from Crazy heart music & lyrics by Ryan Bingham & T-Bone Burnett performed by Ryan Bingham (& Jeff Bridges) Following the Awards presentations, 11 world class composers will be appearing live in concert including Oscar-winners Howard Shore (Lord Of The Rings trilogy), Elliot Goldenthal (Frida, Interview With A Vampire), Gabriel Yared (The English Patient), Gustavo Santaolalla (Babel, Brokeback Mountain), Stephen Warbeck (Shakespeare In Love) as well as Angelo Badalamenti (Twin Peaks), Craig Armstrong (Elizabeth: The Golden Age, Ray) Alberto Iglesias (The Kite Runner, Volver), Bruno Coulais (The Chorus), Frédéric Devreese (Un Soir, Un Train) and brilliant young composer Nico Muhly (The Reader). The World Soundtrack Academy was founded in 2001 by the Ghent International Film Festival to celebrate the role of music in film and honor film composers. The WSA Academy now has over 300 international members comprised of composers, film professionals, record label executives and other representatives of the film music business. At the end of August, the Academy Board will announce the 5 nominees for the category Discovery of the Year 2010. In addition to the Awards presented by the Academy, film music fans around the world can vote for the best soundtrack of the year (see www.worldsoundtrackacademy.com/voting).

Stay up to date, subscribe to our newsletter

Would you like to stay up to date about festival news, composers, awards, and our programme?