15 17 Oct '24

Second Wave of Nominees 19th World Soundtrack Awards Revealed

Wsa nominees banner website 4
News 11 Sep 2019
After having released the names of the nominees for Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film, Best Film Composer of the Year and Best Television Composer of the Year, the World Soundtrack Academy announces a second wave of nominees for Best Original Score for a Belgian Production, Discovery of the Year, SABAM Award for the Most Original Composition by a Young International Composer and the Public Choice Award. For the 19th edition, The World Soundtrack Academy welcomes a remarkably diverse group of nominees, in background as well as training and medium.

For the fourth time in a row, the award for Best Original Score for a Belgian Production will be presented at the World Soundtrack Awards Gala. The three nominees are: Frédéric Vercheval - who composed the music for ‘Duelles’, starring internationally acclaimed actress Veerle Baetens, Soulsavers -the English-American remix duo who wrote the capturing music to Koen Mortier’s ‘Un Ange’ and Dutch composer duo Jorrit Kleijnen & Alexander Reumers, who share a nomination for the work they provided for the family drama ‘Niet Schieten’.

Young, international and talented composers are given a spot in the limelight with the Discovery of the Year Award. In addition to the award, the winner receives the opportunity to perform on stage at the next (20th!) edition of the World Soundtrack Awards. The nominees are African-American orchestral composer Michael Abels for Jordan Peele’s ‘Us’, ‘BAFTA Breakthrough Brit’ Segun Akinola with his music for ‘The Last Tree’, composer-pianist Kris Bowers for the biographical road trip film 'Green Book', London-based composer Anne Chmelewsky for the war drama 'Where Hands Touch' and Disasterpeace with the electronic score he created for the neo-noir thriller 'Under the Silver Lake'.

Within the category SABAM Award for the Most Original Composition by a Young International Composer, the contesters received the task to compose music for Nicolas Roeg’s occult thriller ‘Don’t Look Now’. The 2019 nominees are American jazz pianist and composer Pierre Charles, Shanghai-based producer-composer Yu-peng Chen and multi-talented Zuzana Michlerová- a Czech composer, arranger, orchestrator and singer. These finalists are invited to have a three-day stay in Ghent where they can not only attend all industry events but will also hear and see their compositions performed live by Brussels Philharmonic conducted by Dirk Brossé.

All soundtrack and film music fans worldwide could also cast their personal vote for what they consider the best film score of the past 12 months. The five nominees are invited to join us during the World Soundtrack Awards Gala where the score with the highest number of votes will receive the World Soundtrack Public Choice Award of 2019! The nominees are singer-songwriter Khaled Mouzanar for ‘Capernaum’, Pinar Toprak for ‘Captain Marvel’, John Powell with his score for ‘How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World’, Matthieu Lamboley for his work on ‘Minuscules: Les Mandibules Du Bout Du Monde’ and finally, Diego Baldenweg with Nora Baldenweg & Lionel Baldenweg for ‘Zwingli’.

As previously announced, the Award ceremony will conclude with a concert by Brussels Philharmonic performing the oeuvre of Marco Beltrami and Tamar-kali, winner of the Discovery of the Year 2018 for her outstanding work on Dee Rees‘Mudbound’. 2019 marks an exceptional year for the World Soundtrack Awards as not only living legend Krzysztof Penderecki will be honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award, but also Belgian iconic composer Frédéric Devreese will be awarded this career prize.

Oct 17 – Hollywood Nightmares: Scary Symphonic Scores - tickets
Oct 18 - World Soundtrack Awards Gala - tickets

Follow the World Soundtrack Awards playlist on Spotify!
Like, share & tag away with #WSAwards #FFGent

Stay up to date, subscribe to our newsletter

Would you like to stay up to date about festival news, composers, awards, and our programme?