15 17 Oct '24

Alexander Desplat third time in a row Film Composer of the Year

News 22 Oct 2011
The World Soundtrack Academy announced tonight the winners of the World Soundtrack Awards 2011, the closing event of the 38th Ghent International Film Festival. Alexandre Desplat was chosen as Film Composer of the Year 2011. Hans Zimmer went home with the award for Best Orginal Film Score of the Year for Inception. Randy Newman received the World Soundtrack Award for Best Original Song Written for Film with We Belong Together from the film Toy Story 3. Alex Heffes received the Discovery of the Year Award for The First Grader & The Rite . The Public Choice Award went to A.R. Rahman for the film 127 hours. Giorgio Moroder received the World Soundtrack Lifetime Achievement Award.
Both the ceremony and the concert were attended by world famous composers such as Gabriel Yared (The Talented Mr. Ripley), Hans Zimmer (Inception), Elliot Goldenthal (Batman Forever), Giorgio Moroder (Scarface), Walter Murch (Apocalypse now), Alexandre Desplat (The King's Speech), Alex Heffes (The First Grader & The Rite) and Abel Korzeniowski (Last Year's Discovery of the Year with A Single Man) During and after the ceremony The Brussels Philharmonic performed music. The winners: Film Composer of the Year Alexandre DESPLAT (A Better Life, The Burma Conspiracy, The King's Speech, The Three of Life, The Well Digger's Daughter, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows : Part 1, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows : Part 2) Best Original Film Score of the Year 2011 INCEPTION by Hans Zimmer Best original song written for Film WE BELONG TOGETHER from TOY STORY 3 By Randy Newman Discovery of the Year Alex Heffes for THE FIRST GRADER & THE RITE Public Choice Award 127 Hours by A.R Rahman Sabam Award for Best Young European Composer Gabriel Heinrich Lifetime Achievement Award Giorgio Moroder

Stay up to date, subscribe to our newsletter

Would you like to stay up to date about festival news, composers, awards, and our programme?