20 23 oct '21

19th World Soundtrack Awards announces first wave of nominees

News 12 Aug 2019

This first wave of the 2019 World Soundtrack Award Nominees includes multiple Academy Award® and Golden Globe® nominees, the best of contemporary film and television music as well as hiphop's biggest rock star Post Malone and other pop artists.

The nominees for Best Film Composer are Academy Award® nominees Nicholas Britell, John Powell and Alan Silvestri and Golden Globe® nominees Daniel Pemberton and Benjamin Wallfisch. The Television Composer of the Year nominees include upcoming and popular composers Kris Bowers, Ramin Djawadi, Murray Gold, Hildur Guðnadóttir and Jeff Russo.

Film Fest Gent’s programme director Wim De Witte about the nominees: "We are pleased to see such a variety of young talents across all three categories, including multiple composers who have previously won or been nominated for the World Soundtrack Discovery Award.Therefore, the World Soundtrack Awards are the ideal moment to put this new generation of composers into the spotlight."


Best Film Composer of the Year

Nicholas Britell ‘If Beale Street Could Talk’; ‘Vice’

Daniel Pemberton ‘Yesterday’; ‘Spider-Man: Into The Spiderverse’; ‘Scarborough’;

John Powell ‘How to train Your Dragon: The Hidden World’

Alan Silvestri ‘Avengers: Endgame’; ‘Welcome to Marwen’

Benjamin Wallfisch ‘Hellboy’; ‘Shazam!’; 'Serenity'; 'King of Thieves'; 'The Vanishing'; 'The Darkest Minds'

Best Television Composer of the Year

Kris Bowers “When They See Us” (Season 1), “For the People” (Season 2), “Black Monday” (Season 1), “Warriors of Liberty City” (Season 1)

Ramin Djawadi “Game of Thrones” (Season 8), “Jack Ryan” (Season 1)

Murray Gold “Years and Years” (Season 1), “Gentleman Jack” (Season 1)

Hildur Guðnadóttir “Chernobyl”, "Ófærð" (“Trapped” - Season 2)

Jeff Russo “Legion” (Season 3), “The InBetween” (Season 1), “The Act” (Season 1), “The Umbrella Academy” (Season 1), “Star Trek: Discovery” (Season 2), “Counterpart” (Season 2), “Channel Zero” (Season 4), “Snowfall” (Season 2)

Best Original Song written directly for a Film

'Requiem for a Private War' from 'A Private War'; written & performed by Annie Lennox

'Shallow' from 'A Star is Born'; written by Lady Gaga, Andrew Wyatt, Anthony Rossomando, Mark Ronson; performed by Lady Gaga, Bradley Cooper

‘Sunflower’ from “Spider-man: Into the Spider-Verse”; written by Swae Lee (as Khalif Brown), Louis Bell, Post Malone (as Austin Post), Billy Walsh (as William Walsh), Carter Lang, Carl Rosen; performed by Post Malone, Swae Lee

'The Place Where Lost Things Go' from 'Mary Poppins Returns'; written by Marc Shaiman, Scott Wittman; performed by Emily Blunt

'When a Cowboy Trades his Spurs for Wings' from 'The Ballad of Buster Scruggs'
Written by David Rawlings, Gillian Welch; Performed by Willie Watson, Tim Blake Nelson

Stay up to date, subscribe to our newsletter

Do you want to stay up to date with festival news, the composers and the awards & our programme?

This website uses cookies to give you the best experiences and to make sure you see relevant content. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. You can refuse the installation of our cookies, but this might result in a less optimal experience. Read more.

Your browser does not meet the minimum requirements to view this website. The browsers below are compatible. If you do not have any of these browsers, click on the icon to download the desired browser.