15th World Soundtrack Awards announces second wave of nominees

News 09 Sep 2015
Today the World Soundtrack Academy releases a second wave of nominees for Discovery of the Year, SABAM Award for Best Young International Composer and the Public Choice Award. Earlier last month the WSAcademy already revealed the nominees for Best Composer, Score and Song.

The 15th World Soundtrack Awards is the closing event of Film Fest Gent on 24 October 2015. The WSAwards aims at supporting film music, sound design, composers and their worldwide promotion. In fifteen years time, the WSAcademy has grown into a group of 370 international professionals nominating through several rounds of voting.

Artistic Director Patrick Duynslaegher:

"If you are looking for the next generation of great composers, you just have to look at the World Soundtrack Discovery Awards where composers as Michael Giacchino, Gustavo Santaolalla, Craig Armstrong and Abel Korzeniowski were acknowledged very early on for their talent by the WSAwards Advisory Board."


The Discovery of the Year Award is aimed at encouraging emerging talent, who have scored not more than six feature films in total that were released in theatres. Besides receiving the award, the winner will perform at the 16th WSAwards in 2016. The nominees for Discovery of 2015 are:

- Alex Ebert (Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros) for ‘A Most Violet Year’
- Dominic Lewis for ‘Spooks: The Greater Good’
- Antonio Sanchez for ‘Birdman’
- Ben Salisbury & Geoff Barrow (Portishead) for ‘Ex Machina’
- Zhiyi Wang for ‘But Always’ & ‘Highway of Love’


Each year young film music talent is given the chance to receive the SABAM Award For Best Young Composer. The candidates were instructed to compose music for a scene of ‘The Third Man’ (1949) by Carol Reed, in the context of FFGent’s British focus this year. The winner receives the SABAM Award (with a value of €2.500) and follows in the footsteps of composer Cyril Molesti, winner of 2014. The professional jury consists of Patrick Duynslaegher (Artistic Director FFGent), Dirk Brossé (composer, conductor and Music Director FFGent), composer Michel Herr, Stefan Rycken (manager ACE Image Factory), Hans Helewaut (Managing director SABAM) and director Adil El Arbi. They chose 3 candidates:

- Maxime Hervé (Canada)
- Peer Kleinschmidt (Germany)
- Roman Falkenstein (Latvia)


At 15th edition of the World Soundtrack Awards, the winner of the Public Choice Award will be announced. These are the 5 scores that were most voted for by the public.

- ‘A Little Chaos’ by Peter Gregson
- ‘Ex Machina’ by Ben Salisbury & Geoff Barrow
- ‘Far From Men’ by Warren Ellis & Nick Cave
- ‘The Maze Runner’ by John Paesano
- ‘Timbuktu’ by Amine Bouhafa


The World Soundtrack Awards will celebrate its 15th anniversary with Alan Silvestri (‘Back to the Future’, ‘Who Framed Roger Rabbit’ and ‘Forrest Gump’), Lifetime Achievement Award Winner Patrick Doyle and Discovery 2014 Daniel Pemberton. Film Fest Gent will also release an album with the best scores of Silvestri, recorded at Flagey Studios in Brussels by Galaxy Studios. Conducted Dirk Brossé and performed by Brussels Philharmonic & Flemish Radio Choir.

The 15th World Soundtrack Awards & Concert will take place on 24 October 2015 at Kuipke in Ghent. Buy your tickets here!