15 17 Oct '24

World Soundtrack Academy announces Discovery nominees 2009

News 04 Sep 2009
The World Soundtrack Academy releases the list of nominees for the World Soundtrack Discovery 2009. The name of the winner will be announced on October 17 at the World Soundtrack Awards ceremony, the closing event of the Ghent International Film Festival.

Every year the advisory board of the World Soundtrack Academy chooses a 'Discovery of the Year' to celebrate emerging film composing talent. Famous composers as Craig Armstrong, Michael Giacchino and Gustavo Santaolalla were discovered by the board. The nominees for 2009 are - Lorne Balfe for Crying with Laughter - Jérôme Lemonnier for Demain dès l'aube - Andrew Lockington for Journey to the Center of the Earth - Nico Muhly for The Reader - Atli Örvarsson for Babylon AD The composers Alexandre Desplat and Marvin Hamlisch will be the guests of honour at the 9th World Soundtrack Awards. The Brussels Philharmonic will perform music from The Girl with the Pearl Earring, The Queen, The Painted Veil and Lust Caution among others. The American composer Marvin Hamlisch, who created unforgettable music for films and musicals such as The Way We Were and A Chorus Line, will receive the World Soundtrack Lifetime Achievement Award. Young film music talent is also represented with the composer Marc Streitenfeld who carried off the World Soundtrack Discovery Award last year with his soundtrack for American Gangster by Ridley Scott. Orchestra: Brussels Philharmonic Conductors: Dirk Brossé, Alexandre Desplat, Marvin Hamlisch For more info and an overview of all nominees: www.worldsoundtrackacademy.com

Stay up to date, subscribe to our newsletter

Would you like to stay up to date about festival news, composers, awards, and our programme?