Second wave of nominees! #WSAwards

News 14 Sep 2016
The World Soundtrack Academy released a second wave of nominees for Discovery of the Year, the SABAM Award for Best Young International Composer and Public Choice Award. Last month the nominees for Best Film Composer, Best TV Composer and Best Original Song were revealed.

The WSAwards aims at supporting film music, sound design, composers and their worldwide promotion. Over the past 16 years the WSAcademy has grown into a group of 370 international professionals nominating through several rounds of voting.

Artistic Director Patrick Duynslaegher: ‘If you are looking for the next generation of great composers, you just have to look at the World Soundtrack Discovery Awards, where composers such as Michael Giacchino, Gustavo Santaolalla, Craig Armstrong, Abel Korzeniowski and Daniel Pemberton were acknowledged early on in their careers.’


The Discovery of the Year Award is aimed at encouraging emerging talent, who have scored not more than six feature films (commercially released in theatres) in total. Besides receiving the award, the winner will perform at the 17th WSAwards in 2017. The nominees for Discovery of 2016 are:

- Bear McCreary for ’10 Cloverfield Lane’ & ‘The Boy’
- Ben Lovett for ‘Synchronicity’
- Joe Kraemer for ‘Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation’
- Nicholas Britell for ‘The Big Short’
- Matthew Margeson for ‘Eddie the Eagle’


Each year young film music talent is given the chance to receive the SABAM Award For Best Young Composer (with a value of €2.500). The candidates were instructed to compose music for the opening titles of British TV series ‘The Saint’, starring Roger Moore, in the context of the focus on Television Music this year. The professional jury consists of Patrick Duynslaegher (Artistic Director FFGent), Dirk Brossé (composer, conductor and Music Director FFGent), Stefan Rycken (manager ACE Image Factory), Hans Helewaut (Managing director SABAM) and director Eshref Reybrouck (‘Marsman’,‘Cordon’). The 3 finalists are:

- Enrica Sciandrone
- Nathan Glenn
- Sándor Török


At the 16th edition of the World Soundtrack Awards, the winner of the Public Choice Award for the Best Score of the Year will be announced. These are the 5 scores that were most voted for:

- ‘Carol’ by Carter Burwell
- ‘Eddie the Eagle’ by Matthew Margeson
- ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ by John Williams
- ‘The Hateful Eight’ by Ennio Morricone
- ‘The Man from U.N.C.L.E.’ by Daniel Pemberton


16th World Soundtrack Awards Gala: Wednesday 19 October 2016 at Capitole Ghent. Central guests attending include Ryuichi Sakamoto, Jeff Beal, Jeff Russo, Sean Callery, John Lunn, Alex Heffes, Daniel Pemberton and many more! Tickets available at: and

As previously announced, The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Ryuichi Sakamoto, following the festival’s spotlight on Japanese cinema. A selection of his and the TV composers’ work will be performed by Brussels Philharmonic and the Flemish Radio Choir, conducted by Dirk Brossé.

The following day, a TV music concert, including both classic and contemporary TV-tunes, all performed by Brussels Philharmonic conducted by Dirk Brossé, is organized on Thursday 20 October 2016.

Follow the World Soundtrack Awards playlist on Spotify! Like, share & tag away with #WSAwards #FFGent