Film Fest Gent honours Mark Isham with album release 'Mark Isham: Music for Film'

WSA Mark Isham
News 13 Sep 2022
Each year, Film Fest Gent puts film music and composers in the spotlight with an album release. This time around, Film Fest Gent is proud to present the new album 'Mark Isham: Music for Film'.

Guest of honour at the 2022 World Soundtrack Awards, Mark Isham has been one of the most versatile film composers of the past four decades. Equally known for his electronic music, his jazz work and trumpet performances, he has created numerous memorable scores for a wide variety of films and television series, forging entrancing and movingly honest melodies that have enhanced the stories they accompany time and time again.

This is the first time that an entire album is devoted to Isham’s film and television scores. Spotlighting some of his very best work, it contains a unique selection from his massive oeuvre, including studio recordings of concert suites from 42, American Crime, The Black Dahlia, Eight Below, the Oscar-nominated score A River Runs through It and from his recent score The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent.

Film Fest Ghent2022 Mark Isham cover V3

Further highlights include the jazz-infused selections from Judas and the Black Messiah and The Moderns and a symphonic version of “On the Threshold of Liberty”, one of his best-known original compositions, which was also used to great effect in Rules of Engagement. The pieces from Bobby, Judas and the Black Messiah, Life as a House, The Nevers and The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent are premiere performances for this album, re-recorded for the first time since the original score.

All music on this album is performed by the Brussels Philharmonic and conducted by maestro Dirk Brossé. Trumpet solos on selected pieces are played by composer Mark Isham and the Los Angeles Philharmonic’s principal trumpet Thomas Hooten.

Tracklist 'Mark Isham: Music for Film'

01. “Prologue” uit Bobby

02. “Suite” uit Eight Below

03. “Suite” uit A River Runs through It

04. “Funeral” uit Judas and the Black Messiah

05. “Building a Family” uit Life as a House

06. “On the Threshold of Liberty” uit Rules of Engagement

07. “The Event Flashback” uit The Nevers

08. “Suite” uit The Black Dahlia

09. “Suite – Movement III” uit American Crime

10. “Les Modernes Suite” uit The Moderns

11. “Suite” uit The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent

12. “Suite” uit 42

Released during the 49th edition of Film Fest Gent in October 2022 and licensed to Silva Screen Records, the album Mark Isham: Music for Film is the 17th album in Film Fest Gent’s continuing series of annual film music albums, containing new studio recordings with Brussels Philharmonic and Dirk Brossé that give some of the world’s greatest scores an extended afterlife beyond the films.

From today onwards, the album is available to pre-order in the webshop for €20.

WSA WEB banner Tekengebied 1

The 22nd edition of the World Soundtrack Awards with Mark Isham (guest of honour), Bruno Coulais (Lifetime Achievement Award) and Nainita Desai (Discovery Award winner 2021) will be held on 22 October 2022.