Approaching deadline Discovery of the Year

News 10 Jun 2014
Every year the Advisory Board of the World Soundtrack Academy chooses a ‘Discovery of the Year’ to celebrate emerging film composing talent. Famous composers as Klaus Badelt, Antonio Pinto, Craig Armstrong, Michael Giacchino, Gustavo Santaolalla, Nico Muhly, Abel Korzeniowski, Alex Heffes and last year’s Dan Romer were discovered by the WSA Advisory Board. The Discovery of the Year Award is aimed at encouraging emerging talent, who at the current WSA eligibility deadline (June 30, 2014), have scored not more than six feature films in total (excluded are shorts, TV-formats & documentaries), which have had a commercial theatrical release. To qualify as an eligible score, the motion picture for which the score was composed/produced has to receive its world première screening between July 1, 2013 and June 30, 2014.

Candidates must send (before the deadline Monday 14th of July 2014) :
- a PDF file containing CV and credits
- a digital HR file containing the movie to
- 10 CD’s containing full score
To the following address: Film Fest Gent Valerie Dobbelaere Leeuwstraat 40b 9000 Ghent Belgium

The material will be distributed among WSA board members who will nominate and elect the winner in this category. All material should be with the Academy no later than July 14th of the voting year. (Material received after that date is excluded from the competition.)

Nominations will be announced at the end of August of the voting year. reach the Academy no later than September 8 of the voting year.
For years now it has been a tradition that the winner of the ‘Discovery of the Year’ award performs the following year during the World Soundtrack Awards ceremony & concert. For more information: