15 17 Oct '24

Alexandre Desplat Film Composer of the Year & Best Film Score of the Year

News 17 Oct 2009
The World Soundtrack Academy announced tonight the winners of the World Soundtrack Awards 2009, the closing event of the 36th Ghent International Film Festival. The 9th edition of the World Soundtrack Awards was once again a highlight for film music professionals and fans. Two time Oscar nominee, Alexandre Desplat, was chosen as Film Composer of the Year 2009 and also took home the award for Best Original Film Score of the Year (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button). Double Oscar winner, A.R. Rahman, won Best Original Song Written for Film for Jai Ho (Slumdog Millionaire). Nico Muhly was the World Soundtrack Academy's new discovery of the year with the score for The Reader and three time Oscar winner Marvin Hamlisch was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Look at the photos
Both the ceremony and the concert were attended by an impressive list of VIPS from the film music world such as Alexandre Desplat, Marvin Hamlisch, A.R. Rahman, Reinhold Heil, Johhny Klimek and Alti Ovarsson, Jérôme Lemmonier and Andrew Lockington among others. During and after the World Soundtrack Awards ceremony, musical performances were held featuring Hamlisch, Desplat and last year's WSA Discovery Of The Year honoree Marc Streitenfeld all backed by the 80 member Brussels Philharmonic conducted by Dirk Brossé, Marvin Hamlisch & Alexandre Desplat THE RESULTS FILM COMPOSER OF THE YEAR ALEXANDRE DESPLAT (THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON, COCO AVANT CHANEL, LARGO WINCH, CHÉRI) BEST ORIGINAL FILM SCORE OF THE YEAR THE CURIOUS CASE OF BENJAMIN BUTTON by Alexandre Desplat BEST ORIGINAL SONG WRITTEN FOR FILM "JAI HO" from 'Slumdog Millionaire' Music by: A.R. Rahman Lyrics by Gulzar and Tanvi Shah Performed by A.R. Rahman, Sukhvinder Singh, Tanvi Shah, Mahalaksmi Iyver, Vijay Prakash Published by KM Musiq ltd DISCOVERY OF THE YEAR NICO MUHLY "THE READER" LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD MARVIN HAMLISCH PUBLIC CHOICE AWARD "TWILIGHT" CARTER BURWELL SABAM AWARD FOR BEST YOUNG EUROPEAN COMPOSER CHRISTOPHER SLASKI The World Soundtrack Awards are organized in cooperation with Port of Ghent, Sabam, the province East-Flanders, the Ghent City Marketing Fund and Belgacom. More info: www.worldsoundtrackacademy.com

Stay up to date, subscribe to our newsletter

Would you like to stay up to date about festival news, composers, awards, and our programme?