Alberto Iglesias is 'Film Composer of the Year' at 12th World Soundtrack Awards

News 20 Oct 2012
The World Soundtrack Academy announced tonight the winners of the World Soundtrack Awards 2012, the closing event of the 39th Ghent Film Festival. Alberto Iglesias was chosen as Film Composer of the Year 2012, for his soundtracks for 'Le Moine' ('The Monk'), 'La Piel Que Habito' (The Skin I Live In) and 'Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy'. He also went home with the award for Best Original Film Score of the Year for 'Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy'. Brian Byrne received the World Soundtrack Award for Best Original Song Written for Film for 'Lay Your Head Down' from the film 'Albert Nobbs'. Byrne also won the Discovery of the Year Award. The Public Choice Award went to Abel Korzeniowski for the film 'W.E.'. Pino Donaggio received a World Soundtrack Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to him by Mike Stoller.

The award ceremony took place in the presence of the Flemish Minister of Culture Joke Schauvliege and the Flemish Minister of Energy, Housing, Cities and Social Economy Freya Van den Bossche. Both the ceremony and the concert were attended by world renowned composers such as James Newton Howard ('The Hunger Games', 'King Kong', 'The Sixth Sense', 'The Fugitive' and 'Pretty Woman') Pino Donaggio ('Carrie', 'Dressed To Kill', 'Blow Out', 'Body Double', Raising Cain and Passion), and Discovery of the Year 2011 Alex Heffes (The First Grader & The Rite). During and after the ceremony The Brussels Philharmonic performed music by various composers. The orchestra also received a 'Certificate for Outstanding Recognition'. The certificate was handed to General Director Günther Broucke by Delegate of the Board Jacques Dubrulle.
Photos 12th World Soundtrack Awards

Film Composer of the Year Alberto IGLESIAS (Le Moine' ('The Monk'), 'La Piel Que Habito' (The Skin I Live In) and 'Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy')
Best Original Film Score of the Year 'TINKER, TAILOR, SOLDIER, SPY' by Alberto IGLESIAS
Best original song written for Film 'LAY YOUR HEAD DOWN ' from 'Albert Nobbs' Music: Brian Byrne / Lyrics: Glenn Close / Performed by: Sinead O'Connor
Discovery of the Year Brian BYRNE for 'Albert Nobbs'
Public Choice Award Abel KORZENIOWSKI for 'W.E.'
Sabam Award for Best Young European Composer Valentin HADJADJ
Lifetime Achievement Award Pino DONAGGIO
Certificate of Outstanding Recognition BRUSSELS PHILHARMONIC

The Grand Prize for Best Film: TABU by Miguel Gomes - Portugal - Germany - Brazil - France 2012 - Distributor: Numéro Zéro
The Georges Delerue Prize for Best Music & Sound Design: APRES MAI by Olivier Assayas - France 2012 - Distributor: A-Film Belgium
Special Mention: KID by Fien Troch - Belgium 2012 - Distributor: Cinéart
Joseph Plateau Honorary Award: Emmanuelle Riva
Joseph Plateau Honorary Award: Paolo & Vittorio Taviani
EFA 2013 Prize for Best European Short: AS ONDAS by Miguel Fonseca - Portugal 2012
National Lottery Prize for Best Belgian Student Short: DE NAAM VAN DE VADER by Timothy Josha Wennekes - Belgium 2012 (St-Lukas)
Honorable Mention: CORPS PERDU by Lukas Dhont - Belgium 2012 (KASK)