20 22 oct '22
20181013 FFGENT 2018 Jeroen Willems 832

Composition contest

Young composers are the future of the film music industry, but rarely get the chance to showcase their talent to a (non-)professional (live) audience. Therefore, the World Soundtrack Academy each year offers screen composers under the age of 36 the chance to participate in the WSA Film Music Composition Contest and to win the Sabam Award for Best Original Composition by a Young Composer (worth €2.500) at the World Soundtrack Awards Ceremony & Concert.

WSA2022 Composition Contest still Nosferatu

2022 Composition Contest

This year, young screen composers under the age of 36 were invited to write a score for a scene from Nosferatu, Murnau's timeless classic which celebrates its 100th birthday this year. For a century now, vampire Count Orlok sows fear among everyone who beholds this German Expressionist adaptation of the well-known story of Count Dracula, while he chases and startles people, projecting that iconic shadow of his long fingers and bald head onto the walls. The chosen excerpt shows Orlok on a ship haunting yet another victim by arising from his coffin. The clip offers opportunities for sound effects and the musical expression of fear and horror.

Registrations for the 2022 Composition Contest are now closed. The three finalists will attend the WSA Film Music Days, including the World Soundtrack Awards Ceremony & Concert on 22 October where Brussels Philharmonic will perform their music live, after which the winner of the Sabam Award for Best Original Composition by a Young Composer will be announced.

Want to stay up-to-date with all events, submissions and future Composition Contests? Subscribe to our newsletter on the bottom of the website.

Dougal Kemp Sabam Award for Best Original Composition by a Young Composer Composition Contest WSA 2021
© Jeroen Willems

Young international film music talents have the chance to participate in the WSA Film Music Composition Contest and to win the Sabam Award for Best Original Composition by a Young Composer, worth €2,500. Participants are invited to show their skills as a composer for screen by writing a symphonic score for a selected film or TV excerpt. The jury will choose three finalists, whose compositions will be performed by Brussels Philharmonic, conducted by Maestro Dirk Brossé, at the annual World Soundtrack Awards Ceremony and Concert. The finalists are welcome to attend the film music events at Film Fest Ghent and meet professionals from the international film music industry.

2021 Winner Composition Contest: Dougal Kemp

In 2021, London-born Dougal Kemp received the SABAM Award for Best Original Composition by a Young International Composer. He began writing music for different bands in High School (Jazz-Rock, World Music, Reggae-Swing...) and started developing an interest for all styles he came across. It is in university, whilst studying alongside Drama & Music that applying his musical writing to different forms of visual arts came to him naturally. Dougal followed a Film Music Master's degree in Lyon before winning in 2019 the First Prize in Animation Category and becoming finalist in the Scenario Category of the Original SoundTrack Challenge in Clermont-Ferrand. Dougal KEMP joined the Lyon National Superior Conservatory of Music & Dance in 2019 to deepen his personal music language and learn how to adapt it in the best ways to movies.

Previous winners

2021 - Dougal Kemp
2020 - Ana Kasrashvili
2019 -
Pierre Charles
2018 -
Logan Nelson
2017 -
Gavin Brivik
2016 -
Sándor Török
2015 -
Peer Kleinschmidt
2014 -
Cyril Molesti
2013 -
Gilles Alonzo
2012 -
Valentin Hadjadj
2011 -
Gabriel Heinrich
2010 -
Karzan Mahmood
2009 -
Christopher Slaski
2008 -
Cédric Murrath
2007 -
Werner Viaene
2006 -
Alexis Koustoulidis
2005 -
Hannes De Maeyer
2004 -
Steven Prengels

With the support of

Subscribe to our industry newsletter

Are you a film music professional and do you want to stay up to date with festival news, submission & awards and our WSA industry programme?

This website uses cookies to give you the best experiences and to make sure you see relevant content. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. You can refuse the installation of our cookies, but this might result in a less optimal experience. Read more.

Your browser does not meet the minimum requirements to view this website. The browsers below are compatible. If you do not have any of these browsers, click on the icon to download the desired browser.