North Sea Port VAF
Composition Contest
Composition Contest
Share this project

Giving young screen composers a chance

Young international film music talents have the chance to participate in the WSA Film Music Composition Contest and to win the Sabam Award for Best Original Composition by a Young Composer, worth € 2.500. The compositions of the three finalists will be performed by Brussels Philharmonic, conducted by Maestro Dirk Brossé, at the annual World Soundtrack Awards Concert.

Each year, the World Soundtrack Academy (an initiative of Film Fest Gent) organises a composition contest for young international composers. Young talents have the chance to show their skills as a composer for screen by writing a symphonic score for a selected film or TV excerpt. The winner will be presented with the Sabam Award for Best Original Composition by a Young Composer, worth € 2.500.

The jury will choose three finalists, whose composition will be performed at the World Soundtrack Awards Concert by the Brussels Philharmonic conducted by Dirk Brossé. The finalists are invited to attend the film music events at Film Fest Gent, including the concerts, the WSA industry days, the WSA dinner and the Meet & Greet. At the festival the finalists will have the chance to meet professionals from the international film music industry.

2021 Composition Contest

This year, composers for screen are invited to write an original score for a selected excerpt from Nanook of the North, Robert J. Flaherty's 1922 silent documentary film. The excerpt is taken from the famous igloo building sequence, which is interspersed with playing children while Nanook is working.

  • Register for the 2021 Composition Contest here. Upon payment of the fee of € 75 you will receive a confirmation e-mail with more information and a link to the video fragment.
  • The rules can be found here. Candidates must be under the age of 36 (on 23 October 2021).
  • Deadline for submissions: 17 May 2021.

Keep updated on our film music industry activities via our WSA industry mailings here.

Previous winners

Watch and listen to the winning scores from past years here:

2020 Ana Kasrashvili
2019 Pierre Charles
2018 Logan Nelson
2017 Gavin Brivik
2016 Sándor Török
2015 Peer Kleinschmidt
2014 Cyril Molesti
2013 Gilles Alonzo
2012 Valentin Hadjadj
2011 Gabriel Heinrich
2010 Karzan Mahmood
2009 Christopher Slaski
2008 Cédric Murrath
2007 Werner Viaene
2006 Alexis Koustoulidis
2005 Hannes De Maeyer
2004 Steven Prengels

Online communication by Lavagraphics