North Sea Port VAF
Film Fest Gent
Choose your day:
Film Composer of the Year
Film Composer of the Year
Share this

The Film Composer of the Year award is judged by the World Soundtrack Academy and will be awarded to the composer considered to have created the best work produced that year. The award can be presented with respect to one film score or for a body of work produced over the course of the year.

Award for Film Composer of the Year 2018:

Jóhann Jóhannsson for ‘Last and First Men’; ‘Mandy’; ‘Mary Magdalene’ (co-composed with Hildur Guðnadóttir); ‘The Mercy’

Other nominees were:

- Carter Burwell for ‘Goodbye Christopher Robin’; ‘Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri’
- Alexandre Desplat for ‘Endangered Species’;  ‘Isle of Dogs’; ‘Suburbicon’; ‘The Shape of Water’; ‘Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets'
- Jonny Greenwood for ‘Phantom Thread’
- John Williams for ‘Star Wars: The Last Jedi’; ‘The Post'


2018 - Last and First Men, Mandy, Mary Magdalene (co-composed with Hildur Guðnadóttir), The Mercy

Johann Johannsson

Last and First Men, Mandy, Mary Magdalene (co-composed with Hildur Guðnadóttir), The Mercy
View nominees

2018 WINNER Listen on Spotify
2017 - Arrival

Johann Johannsson

View nominees

2017 WINNER Listen on Spotify
2016 - Carol

Burwell Carter

View nominees

2016 WINNER Listen on Spotify
Year Composer Score Nominees Spotify
2015 Giacchino Michael Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Inside Out, Jupiter Ascending, Jurassic World, Tomorrowland View nominees
2014 Desplat Alexandre The Grand Budapest Hotel; Godzilla; The Monuments Men; Venus in Fur; Philomena; Zulu; Marius View nominees
2013 Danna Mychael Life of Pi View nominees
2012 Iglesias Alberto Le Moine View nominees
2011 Desplat Alexandre A Better Life View nominees
2010 Desplat Alexandre Julie & Julia View nominees
2009 Desplat Alexandre The Curious Case of Benjamin Button View nominees
2008 Howard James Newton Charlie Wilson's War View nominees
2007 Desplat Alexandre The Queen View nominees
2006 Iglesias Alberto The Constant Gardener View nominees
2005 Badalamenti Angelo Un Long Dimanche de Fiançailles View nominees
2004 Yared Gabriel Cold Mountain View nominees
2003 Goldenthal Elliot Frida View nominees
2002 Doyle Patrick Gosford Park View nominees
2001 Williams John Artificial Intelligence View nominees

WSA Film Music Composition Contest 2019

Read more

World Soundtrack Awards Rule Book

More info
Online communication by Lavagraphics