VAF Kinepolis North Sea Port
Film Fest Gent
Discovery of the Year
Discovery of the Year
Share this

Since the World Soundtrack Academy encourages young composers, this award is aimed at emerging talent who, at the current WSA eligibility deadline, have scored between one to six feature films in total, which have had a commercial theatrical release in at least two countries. 

Composers can submit their score now until June 15, 2018 via the online submission tool


Nominees for Discovery of the Year 2017

  • Michael Abels: ‘Get Out’
  • Nicholas Britell: ‘Moonlight’
  • Dan Jones: ‘Lady Macbeth’
  • Rael Jones: ‘My Cousin Rachel’
  • Dustin O’Halloran and Hauschka: ‘Lion’

Vote here for the Public choice award

And support your favorite composer.

  Cast your vote


2017 - Moonlight

Britell Nicholas

View nominees

2017 WINNER Listen on Spotify
2016 - Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation

Kraemer Joe

Mission: Impossible - Rogue Nation
View nominees

2016 WINNER Listen on Spotify
2015 - Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Sanchez Antonio

Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
View nominees

2015 WINNER Listen on Spotify
Year Composer Score Nominees Spotify
2014 Pemberton Daniel Cuban Fury, The Counselor View nominees
2013 Romer Dan Beasts of the Southern Wild View nominees
2012 Byrne Brian Albert Nobbs View nominees
2011 Heffes Alex The First Grader View nominees
2010 Korzeniowski Abel A Single Man View nominees
2009 Muhly Nico The Reader View nominees
2008 Streitenfeld Marc American Gangster View nominees
2007 Tarrab Daniel XXY View nominees
2006 Reboutsika Evanthia My Father & My Son View nominees
2005 Giacchino Michael The Incredibles View nominees
2004 Santaolalla Gustavo 21 Grams View nominees
2003 Pinto Antonio Cidade de Deus View nominees
2002 Badelt Klaus The Time Machine View nominees
2001 Armstrong Craig Kiss Of The Dragon; Moulin Rouge! View nominees

World Soundtrack Awards Rule Book

More info

Rule Book Composition Contest 2018

More info
Online communication by Lavagraphics